HOCKEY EASTERN ONTARIO



Hockey Eastern Ontario Minutes of Annual General Meeting July 14, 2021

1. Call to Order

Jeff Baker, HEO's Director of Operations and Chair of the 2021 HEO AGM, called the meeting to order, welcomed both existing and new members, and acknowledged the Indigenous lands upon which the meeting was taking place.

HEO President Gary Hopkins asked everyone to honor those whom HEO lost this past year:

- Barbara Levere
- Mike Depratto
- Theresa Fritz
- Bruno Gendron
- William (Bill) Land
- Lou Nistico
- Jim Powell

Gary Hopkins also introduced current Life Patrons John Butcher, Ken Corbett and Jules Lavictoire as well as announcing new Life Patrons Richard Sennott and Marina Zenk.

2. Establishment of quorum

As 13 of 14 voting members were confirmed to be in attendance, quorum is therefore formally established.

3. Appointment of scrutineers

Per Section 3.9 of the HEO ByLaws, the HEO Board appointed Xenia Charapov of Kelly Santini LLP as scrutineer of the HEO Director elections.

4. Approval of agenda

Moved by the Commissioner of the CCHL, Kevin Abrams, and seconded by the Chair of District 3, Mario Paquette. Carried

5. Approval of minutes of the previous meeting

As this is the first meeting of the new HEO corporation, there are no minutes of a previous annual general meeting to approve.

6. Presentation reports

Gary Hopkins provided an overview of the past season which included the following key points:

- Cost savings to Membership were realized including an elimination of certain fees, a reduction in participant fees and a reduction of Hockey Canada Insurance fees for the 2020-21 season.
- HEO was able to successfully receive funding from Government of Canada COVID-19 Programs such as the Canadian Emergency Wage Subsidy and the Canadian Emergency Rent Subsidy.
- In consultation with Hockey Canada and other Branches across the country, a Branch Return to Hockey (RTH) framework was developed and implemented. This framework provided Branch Associations, Districts, Leagues and Teams with the ability to develop RTH plans and COVID-19 protocols tailored to their needs, while remaining in compliance with Health Unit, municipality, facility and provincial requirements.
- HEO continued to offer Hockey Programs across multiple levels despite the pandemic, registering a total of 23,715 participants in the 2020-21 season.
- HEO offered its Members 15 development clinics as well as 32 webinars.
- Work has begun on developing the Branch's first annual house league tournament of champions.
- HEO is placing a more significant focus on High Performance programming; for example, becoming a successful applicant to the Hockey Canada's Gold Medal Pathway for the U14 age group.
- HEO saw 29 players selected to the OHL U16 Priority Selection this season (a record high) and five players to the U18 Priority Selection.
- HEO Priorities have been set for 2020-21:
 - Supporting the implementation of the Hockey Canada Registry 3.0
 - Supporting a safe and complete return to hockey programs for the 2021-22 season.
 - Developing HEO's strategic plan, in consultation with minor junior, para and special hockey groups.
 - Continuing work on HEO's policy suite
 - Establishing the Branch's first house league hockey tournament
 - Introducing a diversity, equity and inclusion program within the Branch.

7. Report of Auditors

Melissa Ghuman and Vincent Trottier of KPMG provided HEO's members with an audited report of HEO finances, for their consideration.

8. Appointment of Auditors

Motion to appoint KPMG as the auditor of HEO's finances for 2021-22 made by the Chair of District 10, Greg Clarke and seconded by the Chair of Bytown District, Fabio Onesi; Carried

9. Business as specified in the meeting notice

No other business

10. Election of new Directors

The Chair presented the following slate of Directors:

Existing Directors who were elected for a two-year term in August 2020 (alphabetical order).

- Gary Hopkins (President)
- Krista Outhwaite
- Paul Ross
- Joe Rubino

Directors elected by Members for a two-year term effective July 2021 (alphabetical order).

- Charlie Lavictoire
- Tim MacPherson
- Marc Richer

11. Adjournment

The Commissioner of the CCHL, Kevin Abrams motioned to adjourn the 2021 AGM. Seconded by the Chair of District 5, Brydon Schapp. Carried